What Are the State CPR Guidelines for Utah?

What are the state CPR guidelines for Utah?

Salt Lake City is a vibrant place where the health and safety of its residents are top priorities. In this metropolis, as in the broader state of Utah, understanding and adhering to the CPR guidelines is highly important.

CPR guidelines and protocols vary from state to state in the United States. In this article, we answer the question, “What are the state CPR guidelines for Utah?” by providing information on CPR and AED requirements.

CPR Training Programs

In Salt Lake City, CPR training programs are provided through certified providers, including hospitals, healthcare institutions, and local organizations. These programs typically offer different levels of CPR training, such as:

  • Basic Life Support (BLS): Intended for healthcare professionals, such as doctors, nurses, and paramedics. 
  • CPR/AED: Designed for the general public and covers CPR techniques for adults, children, and infants, as well as the use of AEDs.
  • Pediatric CPR: Specialized courses on CPR techniques for infants and children.

Who Should Learn CPR?

Providing numerous CPR training and certification opportunities, the citizens of Salt Lake City are encouraged to learn CPR techniques. According to the CPR guidelines for Utah, this life-saving technique should be learned by: 

Laypeople

Anyone who lives, works, or spends time in Salt Lake City should consider learning the basics of CPR. Bystanders are often the first responders on the scene during medical emergencies, and knowing CPR can mean the difference between waiting for professional help and taking immediate action to save the victim’s life.

Parents and Caregivers

While it is good practice for parents to take CPR training, it is not mandatory. For childcare and daycare providers in Utah, it is compulsory to have pediatric first aid and CPR certification. 

Individuals who work or associate with a childcare program are obligated to take annual childcare training regardless of the number of working hours, and the facility must ensure that at least one CPR-certified staff member is present when children are in care. 

During a Child Care Licensing (CCL), the providers and the staff get educated about: 

  • Culturally appropriate practices according to the development needs of the kids
  • Best practices about the necessary skills on how to engage with the kids’s families 

These CCL rules apply to caregivers who take care of: 

  • Children that are a maximum of 13 years old
  • Children with a disability who are under 18 years old 

Caregiving staff must complete at least 20 hours of childcare training annually to renew their license. The annual CCL is optional for employees who don’t have caregiving duties, such as administrative workers, kitchen personnel, bookkeepers, and maintenance workers. 

Teachers and School Personnel

According to the CPR guidelines for Utah, educators and school staff members in Salt Lake City should be CPR-trained. Students spend a significant portion of their day at school, and having trained staff is crucial for effectively responding to medical emergencies.

School staff members are expected to complete extensive professional development training programs. Some programs are recommended according to the risk management policy, while others are mandatory by the law. 

According to the Utah Health and Sanitation Code, CPR/First Aid is mandatory for health and PE teachers and recommended for other school employees. The rule applies to all public or private schools in Salt Lake City, Utah. This rule does not apply to home schools, places of higher education, trade schools, or professional schools. 

High-School Students 

CPR training in schools is often encouraged by various organizations, including the American Heart Association and the American Red Cross, to ensure that students are equipped with life-saving skills. 

Most US states, including Utah, have included CPR training as a requirement for graduating. This law was implemented in 2015, and since then, students have been obligated to take CPR training that their schools provide. 

Students learn CPR techniques and how to use AED in their Health class in the 10th grade. High schools must provide quality training and materials for the students. For example, having 1 manikin for a group of 6 students is recommended. 

Healthcare Professionals

Healthcare providers in Utah, including doctors, nurses, EMTs, and paramedics must be CPR-certified as part of their job description. Their advanced knowledge of CPR is essential for providing immediate, high-quality care to the patients.

According to the Department of Health, Bureau and Emergency Medical Services and Preparedness in Utah, it is mandatory for healthcare professionals to have BLS and CPR skills and knowledge of how to use AEDs. 

Workplace First Responders

Many workplaces in Salt Lake City have designated first responders or safety teams. These individuals should be trained in CPR to react accordingly and effectively to medical emergencies in the workplace. 

Companies must follow OSHA recommendations for having at least one employee trained and certified in first aid, including CPR. This requirement is not mandatory, but responsible employers should adhere to OSHA standards, ensuring that employees are capable of providing treatment to colleagues in an emergency and SCA victims receive prompt and correct CPR.  

On building sites, it’s essential to have a trained first aid provider present at the worksite or to ensure that emergency medical services are readily available in close proximity. The goal is to ensure that the necessary first help is accessible during the emergency and help the victim until the medical professionals arrive.

Coaches

Sports coaches in Utah must possess an infant, child, and adult CPR, AED, and First Aid certification. The course can be taken online, which is not always the case in other fields where CPR certification is mandatory. Local districts may require a hands-on skills component as part of the certification process in order to maintain employment. 

AED Regulations in Salt Lake City 

The importance of AED usage cannot be overstated, as it plays a critical role in saving lives during sudden cardiac arrests. OHCA victims are individuals of all ages, and cardiac arrest usually happens without warning at any time or place. Knowing how to use an AED ensures that bystanders act fast when encountering a person whose life is at risk.  

Knowing its benefits, the state of Utah has AED regulations that should be followed. According to Section 26B-4-302 – (Authority to administer CPR or use an AED), people can use an AED on the victim without a healthcare license or CPR certificate if they believe the victim is experiencing SCA and needs immediate help. 

Good Samaritan Law

Like many other states, Utah has Good Samaritan Laws to ensure that people who use AEDs and CPR in good faith to assist someone experiencing SCA are protected. This law generally provides legal protection from liability, meaning that you can’t be sued if you caused some injury to the victim when attempting to save a life.

Is AED Usage Limited to Individuals Who Have Received Training?

In some states, the use of AEDs is restricted to those who have undergone CPR and defibrillator training. In such cases, having a trained individual present during the company’s regular operating hours becomes particularly important because anyone using the AED may not enjoy complete immunity from legal responsibilities. However, Utah is not one of the states requiring proper AED training to use it.

Placement of AEDs

Organizations and public places in Salt Lake City are encouraged to have AEDs accessible to the public. This includes schools, government buildings, sports centers, airports, and shopping malls.

Maintenance

AEDs should be adequately maintained, including regular checks of the device’s readiness, expiration dates, electrodes, pads, and batteries, and conducting tests according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

CPR Certification Renewal

If you want to follow the CPR guidelines for Utah properly,  the CPR certification renewal is one more segment to pay attention to. 

CPR certifications are typically valid for two years. In Utah, If you have received CPR training, you are required to renew your certification to stay up to date with the information and the latest CPR techniques. Renewal courses are often shorter than the initial certification courses but cover essential updates and will refresh your skills.

Final Words 

Even though CPR certification is not mandatory for everyone in Utah, it is a skill that most citizens should have if they want to be proactive members of society. As we analyze the CPR guidelines for Utah, we come to the conclusion that CPR training is mandatory in many fields and professions. So, stay up-to-date with the latest CPR regulations and be prepared to step up in critical situations.